2012, resolved. More time for blogging!

I have to say that I was happy to see 2011 and my fall semester come to a close. I couldn’t have had a better New Year’s Eve – I spontaneously took the train to Seattle and spent time with an old friend and made some new ones along the way. I have realized that 2012 holds a great deal of change for this librarian in training. Change that I am both afraid of and excited for:

1) I graduate from Emporia this year. I’m not sure what kind of job I will find and that makes me a bit nervous. But I am open to any and all possibilities and that is an incredibly freeing feeling. I remember when I applied to this program, feeling that it was a step in the right direction and it has proven to be completely out of my comfort zone to move across the country, away from family and friends. If there is one thing I’ve learned through being here, apart, it’s that those relationships are solid.

2) I’ll likely move at the end of this program, whether I get a job somewhere or not. But to where? I’m thinking somewhere warm with less rain. I’m definitely open to moving somewhere for a good job, but let’s say I can’t find one by the time I graduate…Perhaps the southeast part of the country? Maybe even still Colorado. Closer to home, but not TOO close.

3) Getting my creativity back on track: I’ve given myself the goal of a short story a month, a painting, and working on my penpal habits. That last one may not seem “creative”, but I don’t just send letters. And if I do send letters, they aren’t on ruled paper. 🙂

4) Focus on the adventures: Starting with my trip to Seattle, but not ending there. I registered for Burning Man tickets and will find out whether I get one very soon! I wonder if they need volunteer librarians at Burning Man? On my list of things to do this year I also have Olympic National Forrest, Crater Lake, and possibly? Scotland?

5) Finally, life-long learning isn’t always about school-work; by the end of 2012 I hope my Spanish is improved and I hope to meet many people who can teach me something about anything. Those are the people I’m inviting into my life.

This semester will likely be much less stressful than last and for that I am VERY excited! My classes are Web Design and Collection Development–both of which I have great professors for. If you’d like to check out my progress in web design, please visit http://www.amandameeks.com.

Happy 2012!

Leave a Reply

